Pevehouse Awards

The Byron Cone Pevehouse Distinguished Service Award is conferred upon a neurosurgeon in California who has served

both the community of neurosurgery and medicine in general in an extraordinary, effective and distinguished manner.

Criteria for selection of the recipient shall include, but not necessarily be limited to one or more of the following:

  1. Accomplishments in scientific and clinical neurological surgery;
  2. Contributions to organized medicine, representing the interests of neurosurgery;
  3. An exceptional presence in societal, cultural or intellectual pursuits reflecting well upon both the individual recipient and neurosurgery in general;
  4. Selfless humanitarian efforts directed toward the poor and underserved in the United States of America and/or foreign countries.

The Award shall generally be conferred upon someone who has completed his or her professional careers but shall not necessarily be so limited.



2020 William Caton III, M.D.
2019 Lawrence Pitts, M.D.
2018 Steven Giannotta, M.D.
2017 Mitch Berger, M.D.
2016 Moustapha Abou-Samra, M.D.
2015 John Bonner, M.D.
2014 John Adler, M.D.
2013 J. Gordon McComb, M.D.
2012 No Award Given
2011 Gerald K. Silverberg, M.D.
2010 Donald Becker, M.D.
2009 Ulrich Batzdorf, M.D.
2008 Martin. H Weiss, M.D.
2007 George H. Koenig, M.D.
2006 Randall W. Smith, M.D.
2005 Donald J. Prolo, M.D.
2004 W. Eugene Stern, M.D
2003 Mel Cheatham, M.D.
2002 no award given
2001 Sidney Tolchin, M.D.
2000 John A. Kusske, M.D.
1999 Robert E. Florin, M.D.
1998 Charles B. Wilson, M.D.
1997 Philipp M. Lippe, M.D.
1996 George Ablin, M.D.
1995 C. Hunter Shelden, M.D. & Robert H. Pudenz, M.D.
1991 Edwin Todd, M.D.
1990 Byron Cone Pevehouse, M.D.
1989 Edwin B. Boldrey, M.D.
1988 Philip Vogel, M.D .and Joseph Bogen, M.D