Picture of Joseph Chen, MD

Joseph Chen, MD

CANS President

Cause and Effect

President's Message

The practice of medicine continues to change apace with increasing automation and industrialization made possible by a combination of powerful information technology, governmental incentives and large capital investments from the financial industry.  

As the era of the artisanal practice of medicine comes ever closer to a close, organized advocacy on behalf of doctors will be of increasing importance.

Your California Association of Neurological Surgeons serves a vital role in representing the interests of all our members at the state and national levels.  Your participation in this organization is critical to ensure that your voice is heard, your experiences are shared and the interests of the physician-patient relationship are served.  We can only do this by coming together in a unified manner in an organization dedicated to the highest levels of integrity.

This is my last editorial as your President of the California Association of Neurological Surgeons.  It has been a tremendous honor to serve in this position and I will look back fondly over this last year far into the future.  Yet, this time to serve is necessarily limited so as to preserve the health of our organization through a constant renewal of our leadership.  Only in such a way can this organization, year in and year out, preserve its vigor and focus on the things that matter most to our membership and to our patients.

I’m excited to be turning over the gavel to my esteemed colleague, Dr. Ciara Harraher –  a dynamic and trusted advocate for neurosurgeons in California – at our next annual meeting in San Francisco, CA at the historic Intercontinental Mark Hopkins Hotel, January 12-14, 2024.  I hope to see you there and share important insights into this critical time in neurosurgical practice.

As always, my best wishes to you and your cherished ones.


Annual Meeting Info

There is still time to register.  Please do so at this link:

Byron Cone Pevehouse Distinguished Service award recipient: Lawrence Shuer, MD

CANS Lifetime Exceptional Service Award recipient: Moustapha AbouSamra, MD

These awards will be given during the Saturday night banquet. There is an option to sign up for this banquet on the registration page.